Interview Questions . . . be prepared

In a tough job market like candidates are facing today, it is important to be prepared for whatever an interviewer throws at you.  Consider how you would respond to some of the following questions that have been asked during job interviews:

  • What is your greatest weakness?
  • Do you have a problem with working 45 to 60 hours per week?
  • What do you have to contribute to our legal team?
  • Why are you leaving your current position?
  • What is your greatest strength?
  • What is your ideal work environment?
  • Why should we (the firm) hire you?
  • Why did you leave your last job?
  • What is the most significant challenge you have faced in the last year and how did you overcome it?
  • Where do you see yourself in 5 years?  10  years?
  • What do you feel you bring to this position?
  • Give me five adjectives you would use to describe yourself as an employee.
  • Tell me a little about yourself.
  • Describe a situation where you were unable to meet a deadline and how you handled it.
  • What type of management style do you prefer?
  • How do you resolve conflicts?
  • What do you have to offer that other paralegals (or applicants) don’t?
  • Do you have any questions for us?

These are just some of the questions you might be asked.  It may be a good idea to ask your friends and colleagues what types of questions they have been asked at recent interviews.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://paralegalessentials.wordpress.com/2011/05/31/interview-questions-be-prepared/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Once, I was asked, what are your weaknesses? I wasn’t prepare for that question. I was ready to say what I’m good at, but I never expected the opposite. Honestly, I just said ” Impatient, and …… I don’t know” I wasn’t sure if I wanted him to know that. lol. After that question, I felt unsecure, and I dind’t do well for so. So, yes, I think you should be prepare to any kind of questions, because a wrong answer will mess your interview.
    Once, I was asked, “Would you mind to pick up my kids from school everyday?” I wanted the job so bad, but I had to be honest and I say “Yes, I would” Hahaha, They never called me. Why to do things that bothers you? You have to love your job and what you do in order to do it right and to succeed. 😀

  2. Great information! I agree that once you lose your focus in an interview, it could really affect the impression that you leave on the interviewer. The question about picking up the kids is tough. I agree you need to love what you are doing, but also you need to have reasonable boundaries with your employer. If not, you will begin to resent him or her. That could lead to a breakdown of the relationship.


Leave a Reply

